flake

by writerlefter123

At around this time every evening

He eats a Cadbury’s Flake chocolate bar

As he cycles (one-handed)

Somewhere above the district line.

I could probably shut my eyes

Cycle blind behind him

Chucking myself recklessly

Into that toxic river of his

(mmm)

Milkysweet trail

Forgetting what happened to Gretel

Not Hansel.

(Hansel was in on the plan the whole time FYI)

And sleep/joy ride all the way to nearly-home

(just before the red bridge perched somewhere above the central line)

Where I turn right and he turns left.

BUT.

Today he whips out a Cadbury’s cream egg.

Semi-Seasonal, I guess.

But a sturdy cream egg

Doesn’t lose itself to the wind

The way the the giving, com/passionate

And let’s face it

EASY

Cadbury’s Flake does.

With this detour in confectionary choice

He keeps me on my toes

I’m getting faster by the day.

My calf muscles hurt

But at least there’ll be a

chocolate

treat

at

the

end

of

the

road.

 

I think

